h1

Toots and friends

August 13, 2013

studio 1

This guy has put together a bunch of rare roots reggae and ska compilations made entirely from his personal collection of 45s. He’s got a lot of versions I’d never heard before. Here are some of my faves, most from the mid ’70s.

MP3: Freddie McKay-Since I Met You

I thought I’d collected everything John Holt and the Paragons ever released before the late ’70s but apparently not. Check out this beaut:

MP3: John Holt-I’m Your Man

I owe an apology to Toots Hibbard. I devour any and all things reggae, but I’ve never really had a hankering for he and his Maytals. I read the great Reggae Routes years ago and the authors flat out stated time and time again that beside Bob Marley (who is #1 in everyone’s book) Toots & the Maytals are the rulers, period. They made a strong case for their love, but I just couldn’t agree… even after seeing Toots’s amazing live show more than once.
But I’ve finally come around after listening to this guy’s collection of Maytals rarities. Below is a ska number in which Toots sings about going straight to university hospital because he’s got a belly ache. Makes me appreciate 54-46 (That’s My Number) all the more. Toots really IS number one… I mean number two.
1965:

MP3: Maytals- Pain In My Belly

I usually don’t like instrumentals from the early years but this one is quite a scorcha:

MP3: Reggaeites- Harris Wheel

3 comments

  1. Nice little post- Hadn’t heard any of those tunes before- that Maytals one is so catchy, perfected that feel good ska sound. The John Holt track is another highlight.
    http://reggaehistory.wordpress.com/


  2. Its about time you came around to Toots.
    Sometimes you can be just a bit too stubbornly opinionated, IMHO
    No offense intended, but you have, in the past, shot down one or two of my classic music favorites that are widely appreciated.


    • …like Beck? Ugh. 🙂



Leave a Reply

