h1

Stubby

July 31, 2012

Gennessee Brewing from up in New York did two really cool things recently: They rereleased the Fyfe & Drum label, and also brought back the stubby.

If you’re too young to remember the stubby bottle, I’ll tell you all about it. Mind you, this is off the top of my head since I can’t be bothered to actually do any research:

Back in the 70s the beer bottle was losing ground the can, so most if not all of the major brewers released most of their brands in stubby bottles. They had thinner glass than the traditional bottle, they were much shorter, they had a twist off cap, they were non-returnable, and most even had embossed emblems.
These are what I had to fetch my Dad and his buddies when they were building our house and garage. My Mom told me recently that he’d send her to the party store with a five dollar bill and she’d return with a case of beer and change.
Around the time I started drinking in the 80s, stubby days were over, replaced by taller bottles, but not long necks. Most people think long neck bottles were around forever, but that’s not the case- they were pretty uncommon in the Midwest. . They didn’t show up until the late 80s. You’d still find empty stubbies in ditches and beside the road well into the 90s. Hell, I still see them out in the woods once in a while.

Fyfe & Drum is dear to me because it was one of the first cans in my collection as a kid, and it was a pretty, embossed steel can.

Just got this baby on eBay. Probably paid too much, but it’s from the turn of the century and it’s in it’s original frame. It’s the Ferb Schaeffers Northern Liberty Brewery at 2nd & Brown Streets in Philly.

The heat in the city has been brutal this summer so we’ve been spending most weekends in the Poconos, where it’s always at least 10 degrees cooler. That’s where I picked up a case of Stegmaier IPA. I wasn’t expecting much, but it is a damn good IPA at a great price.

SUMMER!

Leave a Reply

