h1

Beasties

May 11, 2012

A few folks have asked me why I haven’t posted anything about the passing of MCA of the Beastie Boys. The truth is, its been busy at work so I haven’t had time. But there’s another underlying reason: I’m not a huge fan of the Beastie Boys. I absolutely love the top-notch production on all of their work, and their sampling is really second to none. But it’s their rapping. In a word, it sucks. And it’s not just their nasally whine, it’s the tired, rehashed lines.

Back in the day, it didn’t help that every frickin douchebag jock in high school and college played Licensed To Ill ad nauseum, plus their first large tour in support of said album, with it’s giant inflated dildo and pretend chugging of 40s on stage really put a bad taste in my mouth. Luckily the Boys continued to put out LP after LP of strong shit, so I quickly forgave them.

That being said, there was (and still is) one tried and true way to get people off their asses on onto the dancefloor; drop a Beasties track. Done.

So instead of posting my favorite BB tunes and writing an ode to Adam Yauch, I’m going to ask you to read the excellent post by Larry over at funky16corners. He posted a collection of originals the Beasties have sampled over the years. Give a listen then give a moment of silence for the genius that is MCA.

One comment

  1. Matt-

    You have to give a little leeway to the B-Boys at the beginning of their career. They were still trying to figure out “who they are/were”. I think we have all been a little guilty of that throughout our lives. We evolve, change (hopefully for the better) and grow. We learn from our mistakes and we work harder to become more influential and viable daily. Its really a never ending process of life.

    Paul’s Boutique and Check Your Head were top-notch, outstanding and so original in their day that to overlook the genius within those albums (and others that followed) does a real disservice to hip-hop as a viable genre. Those two albums changed my life, and they continue to influence myself and others to this day. I do agree that some of their rhymes are re-hashed ad nauseum, but I like to think of them more as “trademarks” of a successful career.

    I know you said you did cut them some slack, and that’s kewl. Forgive and forget for the mistakes of our youth. I think all of us can hope someone from our past takes that cliche to heart and overlooks the trials and inexperience of our youth.

    Now I gotta check out that link. Thanks for that!
    Peace!



Leave a Reply

