h1

Reggae In The Park @ the Mann

April 24, 2012

Reggae Festivals are quite common in Europe and out west, but pretty scarce here in the east.

Hell, even small reggae shows have disappeared since Philly reggae promoter Jamaican Dave went into hiding.

But not anymore. Jamaican Dave has come out of hibernation and Philly’s finally getting a festival of their own! Sure, it’s a little thin on current Jamaican chart-toppers, but it’s still got two of my favorites: Luciano and Beres Hammond.

Of course it’s got Jimmy Cliff on the bill to get the white folks on board, but at least it’s not Americanized reggae-lite artists like Aswad or Ziggy Marley. Blech.
It’s also got quite a share of local reggae acts like El Feco.

Will you see me there? Possibly. It would be nice if they added another genuine Jamaican act, or even ONE dancehall artist, but I’ve never seen Jimmy Cliff live, and since the Mann is but a 5 minute bike ride from my house, I’ll probably go.

THIS is who we need to see on the bill. On the new Freedom Shines riddim:

MP3: Tarrus Riley- Original Dancehall

MP3: Beres Hammond- Love In The Streets feat. Buju Banton, Assassin & I-Octane

This tune always makes me feel happy. From 1973:

Jimmy Cliff- Hello Sunshine

Previous posts with Luciano here and here

REGGAE IN THE PARK
Philly’s Premiere Summer Reggae Festival
DATE: Sunday, 6/10/2012 1:30PM
TICKETS: $79.50, $59.50, $39.50, $35.00 (Balcony), $25 (Terrace/Lawn)
Presented by The Mann, AEG Live & Jamaican Dave Productions
Doors: 12:30PM, Showtime: 1:30PM, All Ages

5 comments

  1. Ive never been to a reggae concert but im looking forward to this!!!!!!!!!!


  2. This is gonna be a damn good show. Not gonna front. I’m not that much up on Jimmy Cliff, but Luci and Beres?? Lahd, that’s gonna be amazing. And you’re so right. They could use one more “shut down” artist to round out the show. Sanchez, Tony Curtis, Lutan Fyah? Would have been nice. I’m still in the building though


    • Yes, Sanchez, Lutan, or even someone slightly dancehall, like Vybez. These artists play the US regularly, so there’s no reason they can’t play Philly!


      • Thinman, what’d you think? I had a great time. Luci could have been longer. (especially considering I was in line for the ONE food vendor when his set started!) But overall he was good. Beres ripped it! Saw only 2 Cliff tunes then I got out of there.


  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that
    automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for
    a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.

    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy
    reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.



Leave a Reply

