h1

Wailers

March 20, 2012

416360

[I just came across this three-year-old post that I’d completely forgotten about. I’ve been pretty swamped at work lately so haven’t had time to write anything. This super awesome oldie will have to suffice for the time being. Enjoy.]

Pretty much every reggae afficianado considers Bob Marley (and the Wailers) the best Jamaican act of all time. I’m usually leery of the hype that seems to builds up over the years about charismatic entertainers who die in their prime. Sure, some deserve the praise: Cobain. Hendrix. Chris Farley. Vandross.
Some don’t: Marilyn Monroe. James Dean. Can’t really think of any other singers who don’t, but you get my point.

Anyway, Marley really was a God. His music completely stood out from all the other stuff coming off that island. (Not so much the early ska stuff, but lots of that wasn’t even his). The Wailers- Peter Tosh, Bunny Livingston(Wailer) and the lesser-known (but better voiced) Junior Braithwaite– really were the shizzit.

He re-recorded a lot of his early material, sometimes three or four times, often changing the song into a completely new one.

One of my all-time favorite tracks is Don’t Rock My Boat. Funny thing is, I hadn’t heard the original until this week. Now I can’t decide which one I like best. The original has an amazing organ line most likely done by the great Jackie Mittoo:

MP3: Bob Marley & The Wailers-Don’t Rock My Boat

My second favorite track by the Wailers is Hammer. Bunny and Peter’s harmonizing is spine-tingling. Listen and find the miscue:

MP3: The Wailers-Hammer

I find it so weird that Bob spent part of his life in Wilmington, Delaware of all places.

Speaking of Marleys, Here in the States, at least with the over-30 crowd, son Ziggy is the only one who people know. That’s pretty sad because he’s the suckiest of the bunch. I have to listen to him sing the theme song to Arthur every morning on PBS and I swear his Jamaican accent sounds fake.

MP3: Ziggy Marley- Believe in Yourself (theme from Arthur)

unknown

The two who matter are Damian and Stephen. Stephen joined the Blazed and Confused tour with Snoop Dogg and Slightly Stoopid. He’s also got a decent acoustic album out now.

Listen to the stream on Imeem

Feel free to leave a comment and tell me your favorite Marley track, even if it IS one of Ziggy’s.

3 comments

  1. Syephen is great, and the fact he joined up with slightly stoopid on the blazed & confused tour shows he is smart, but Ziggy is not a sad musician by any means…


  2. True. I figured that would rile some people, so I shouldn’t bad mouth Ziggy… but he’s always been “reggae lite” to me.


  3. There is only 1 God – and He isn’t Bob Marley. HOWEVER my favorite Marley tune is “Mr. Brown” followed closely by “I’m Still Waiting” and of course “Thank You Lord”. There is a cool cover of “Thank You Lord” on a Shaggy album. Yes Mr. Boombastic.



Leave a Reply

