h1

2 Original

October 20, 2011

Lets go in the opposite direction from my previous post and start with the originals.

First let me clear something up: The O’Jays are NOT a Motown act. For some reason me and others I’ve talked to assume they’re from Detroit. They’re actually from Canton, Ohio, but in all respects they’re pure PHILLY. This is a lesser known but amazing B-side from 1972:

MP3: The O’Jays- I’ll Be Sweeter Tomorrow

…sampled on this fine track from Rasheed Chappell. As far as I can tell, I’m the first to figure out this sample. Yay me!
Rasheed’s Kenny Dope(!)-produced LP Future Before Nastalgia came out last month.

MP3: Rasheed Chappell- Stay Sharp

Its not often that I prefer a cover over the original. In this case, a reggae cover tops it hands down. Sugar Minott’s (may he rest in peace) sweet voice turns a jagged stop-start anthem into a smooth roller:

MP3: Sly, Slick & Wicked- Love’s Gonna Pack Up (1972)

MP3: Sugar Minott-Love Gonna Pack Up

It was also sampled by German R&B singer Joy Denalane in 2007 (Her new album just came out but unfortunately, this one is sung in German, which is a language that does not invoke much soul):

MP3: Joy Denalane- Let Go

It’s a total coincidence that I stumbled upon this original just a week before Rashid Hadee released his LP. This 1967 original  takes us back to such an innocent time:

MP3: The Exits- Under the Streetlamp

sampled:


MP3: Rasheed Hadee- Broken Heart

Soul Khan‘s sample’s O.C. Smith‘s version of Little Green Apples, which was covered by a TON of artists over the years, so I’m going to share my favorite version of the track. Again, a reggae version by the late, great Dennis Brown, who first recorded this when he was a mere 14 years old:

MP3: Soul Khan- Soul Like Khan

No one has sampled this track from 1967 yet, but I’m going to post it anyway since it’s such a great Philly soul tune that more people need to hear:

MP3: The Ethics- I Want My Baby Back

2 comments

  1. I like your comment about soul sung in German. So true, or at least I’d imagine so.


  2. […] previous O’Jays post […]



Leave a Reply

