h1

Livin’ in a van down by the river

September 27, 2011

Last weekend I was playing a stack of new classic records that my cousin’s wife (cousin-in-law?) Monica gave me this summer. She got them from her Dad when he died. Sadly, I dont’ know his name but shout out to Monica’s Dad. You had good taste, sir.

Anyway, I put on his copy of Sly & The Family Stone‘s 1969 LP Stand! and, holy schniekies, what a great freaking record. (By the way, it was preceded by Funkadelic‘s Maggot Brain, which is downright awful. Why is that the ONE Funkadelic record every white person owns? Is it because of the cool cover?)

Sorry- off topic again. Anyway, the next day an article appeared in philly.com about how Sly now lives in a van down by the river. I’ve tried to keep track of Sly ever since I caught his rare and bizarre tv appearance on the Grammy’s in ’06. Apparently he sold all of his publishing rights to Michael Jackson and blew all the proceeds on psychedelic drugs, so now he’s wearing a pan on his head and claims the FBI is following him.

Listen to me: Someone, somehow, has gotta get this guy back into reality before we lose a national treasure. The man was pure GENEOUS. What a damn shame.

2 comments

  1. LOOK OUT!!!!

    He’s got a tazer!

    I have the Sly & Family box set, and all their albums are good. Fresh and Small Talk are my least favorite albums of the bunch. There’s A Riot Going On is another one of their classic albums. Probably Sly’s most creative album, although many fans of early Family Stone music won’t like it – it is an incredible piece of studio work. It does lack the power and sound of the 1965-69 Family Stone band that launched their music to fame, but only because this is a studio and production based album. I guess Sly and one or two others basically recorded all the music tracks for the entire album by themselves. I won’t repeat the story about how they did the vocal tracks.


  2. He’s been releasing albums on and off over the years, and I always wondered if any of the later stuff has any decent tracks. I’ve never had the time to sift through them, and its weird that none of them (later obscure stuff) ever show up on the music blogs I peruse.
    I need to borrow that box set from you!



Leave a Reply

