h1

Rocksteady

May 26, 2011

This sticky heat gets me in the mood for some rocksteady.

They say it was created when the typical Jamaican ska was slowed down on a particularly hot summer in ’66, which slowed everything down. I think it’s a load of B.S, but I can’t argue that it’s some of the best music Jamaica has created.

There’s so much of it that its just too difficult to pick just 4. Therefore, here’s a sample ONLY from guy’s named “Winston”.

Note some of this isn’t rocksteady- just straight up late ’60s reggae or ska.

MP3: Winston Haywood- I’ll Never Fall In Love Again

MP3: Winston Francis- Chain Gang

MP3: Winston Jarrett- Just Can’t Satisfy

MP3: Winston & Robin- Wailing Time

One comment

  1. […] Here’s another Winston Francis track I posted back in May 2011. Boy I guess I like this guy. Glad he’s still going strong! Share:FacebookEmailDiggTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]



Leave a Reply

