h1

Sister Love- Lorraine Ellison

March 26, 2010

I have a very long list of artists I plan to blog about someday, but I usually get around to writing a quick post after I stumble across a rare gem online that I simply MUST share with you bums.

Of course, before I do any writing I have to first do extensive research on the artist (cough, right) and you know what surprising tidbit I find time and time again? The singer or band in question almost always hails from Philly. Seriously, like 80% of the time I consult wikipedia, the second paragraph always states, “Born blankety blank,[3] in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,”…

So again I must boast some Philly pride and introduce you to a stone cold singer who managed to hover just under the radar and score only a couple of hits in the 60s, Stay With Me and Try (Just a Little Bit Harder).

Oh, by the way, most of her early work was produced by the soul hitmaker Jerry Ragovoy, also from Philly. He actually wrote this track from 1966. Wait for the chorus:

MP3: Lorraine Ellison- Stay With Me

MP3: Lorraine Ellison- Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)

Janis Joplin covered it:

This track is a lesser-known gem and a personal favorite:

MP3: Lorraine Ellison- I’m Gonna Cry ‘Till My Tears Run Dry

Lorraine Ellison died in 1983 from ovarian cancer at the age of 51.

Gracias SoulfulDivas.com

One comment

  1. […] Ellison, written and composed by Philly’s own Jerry Ragovoy. I actually wrote an entire post about her almost a year […]



Leave a Reply

