h1

My Five Minutes of Fame

February 26, 2010

This 15 year-old video is proof that courier culture isn’t a new phenomenon- it’s been in existence for longer than most people think. That dude with the luscious locks? That’s me. We were building single speeds and tatooed girls and boys were riding track bikes and hanging at McGlincheys and The Khyber Pass long before it went mainstream. We didn’t have reLOAD bags yet (the owner was a fellow Philly courier at the time) but we did have Timbuk2. Those cheezy bags you see us wearing were from I Goldberg. I ditched the damn thing soon after this video.

I worked for American Expediting at the time and moved up to TimeCycle Couriers weeks after this. I finally cut the hair and got a full time teaching job, although it was in a South Philly Catholic elementary school making $20k a year, less than I made as a full-time courier, so I continued to ride the bike each summer until I got my current desk job in 2000.

I’ve got some other gems I just unearthed from VHS. Stay Tuned.

Leave a Reply

