h1

Residents & mORe

February 5, 2010

The Residents are coming to Philly on Monday Feb. 8. I never understood this mysterious band no matter how much I’ve read about them in the last 3 decades. I’m fine with it too. I’ve seriously only heard one of their songs (until today, preparing for this post) and after listening to a handful, the best of the bunch is still that one song I taped from the radio on my boombox back in 1983.

It’s a Hank Willaims cover and I believe it predates MJ’s Billie Jean by a year (I mention that because the beat is identical):

MP3: The Residents- Kawliga

Fluxblog turned me on to this awesome Bristol band. Its brand new this month but sounds like its straight outta 1970:

MP3: Malachai- Snowflake

MP3: Malachai- Warriors

Does that guitar lick sound exactly like Jimi Hendrix or what? Their new LP is executive produced by Portishead‘s Geoff Barrow.

2 comments

  1. Saw the concert – great show. Played a few classics, and a couple songs I haven’t heard before.

    By the way, I’m pretty sure The Residents’ “Kaw-Liga” does NOT predate MJ’s “Billy Jean” – if it did, it would be quite the buzz in the Rez community.

    They did a whole album of Hank William’s covers (“Stars and Hank Forever” – the other side is John Philips Souza covers). Hank William’s wife was named Billy Jean, so all their mixes of “kawliga” use MJ’s Billy Jean beat.


  2. Oops. I was being lazy and didn’t fact check that one. I was going on my memory alone.



Leave a Reply

