h1

Before and After

October 13, 2009

I bought this ugly old desk when I first moved to Philly. Now it’s perfect for my daughter’s room.

Before:

Desk-before

Most of it is solid maple so I tried to strip and refinish it but the top isn’t original- it’s some sort of plastic laminate and the edges are raw cut with no veneer, so it didn’t look good. The only fix was to paint it.

During:

Desk-during

The final painted product, with new, more “girly” knobs:

Desk-after

Soon I’ll post “before and after” pictures of all of my other projects- a homemade TV stand, my basement den/ home theatre, and an after-market car roof rack are just a few of them.

Someday.

My Dad made this table for my sister’s wedding. There’s not a nail or screw in the entire thing:

Amy's table

2 comments

  1. Matt,
    I love the desk. It is SO CUTE! Great work.
    I bet Claire loves it.
    Thanks for forwarding this to me. Kisses to Claudia and the kids.
    xoxo,
    Amy


  2. Hey Matty: Your desk rocks. Your dad’s piece is the kind of thing I would love to learn how to do; it’s magnificant. He’s a gifted wood-worker(yer pop). My dad has all of those wood saws and laythes in his sculpture studio; I would love to spend some time there building stuff. Maybe we can do that with my pop one day (or, at least I can).

    Wave



Leave a Reply

