h1

Pears

September 29, 2009

pear tree 2009

This pear tree stands next to the road in Springfield PA. I’ve been riding my bike past it for 10 years now. Every fall it produces a tremendous amount of large and juicy fruit. Since most of it ends up on the ground for the ants to eat, I stop and help myself to a few as I go by.

This year, for the first time, it is absolutely bare. I’m sure it has something to do with the extremely wet spring and summer we had this year but you’d think there would be at least a couple shriveled nubs or something. There’s nothing. Not one.

Its leaves look a little more bare than usual too, but even if the tree were dying it would still produce fruit. I’ve seen plenty of dilapidated old fruit trees that looked barely alive but still drop fruit.

My 90 year old neighbor has had a vegetable garden in her back yard for most of her life. Last year the squirrels ate every last veggie in the garden. She said it was the first time in 50 years that had ever happened. We both figured we were in for a long cold winter but it turned out to be one of the mildest winters in a while, so I won’t make any predictions about this pear tree. Anyone else have any ideas?

MP3: Experimental Dental School- Argentine Pears

Leave a Reply

