h1

Legalization? [snicker snicker]

April 2, 2009

I’m a little late getting to this but it really chapped my ass when President Obama was asked during his online media event last Thursday whether he would consider legalizing hemp to offset the cost of the economic crisis. As you can see in the video above, his use of humor and the snickers he elicited from the audience looked like it might as well have taken place 50 years ago.
I expected more from him. I really wonder why he pandered to the “just say no” crowd.

There’s no need for me to get into the whole argument about our failed drug war and the revenue legalization would create… and I won’t even mention the immediate reduction in the crime rate. I thought Obama would at LEAST start a dialog instead of his terse “no”.

At least CNN is raising its voice. Check out this quick commentary “The war on drugs is insane“.

Leave a Reply

