h1

I Likey

November 20, 2008

green-flash

Hops.

The West Coast and the mountain states are still killin’ us here on the East Coast when it comes to quality of strong IPAs. I try to stay local, but how can I with this work of art?

Green Flash Brewery, a relative newcomer outta San Diego doesn’t even consider their West Coast IPA a double, but it packs a whopping 95 IBUs (international bitterness units). It’s mix of Simcoe, Centennial, Cascade and Columbus hops gives my tastebuds a thrashing- after just one my mouth tastes like I ate an entire grapefruit and chased it with a pinecone. It may not sound like it but that’s almost a good thing, at least to me, but I have to limit it to two a night- if I don’t I can’t even taste my coffee in the morning.

Green Flash also makes a less-hoppy but stronger/maltier Imperial IPA in 24 oz bottles which clocks in at 101 IBUs. I stashed a few of these in my crawlspace almost a year ago and have been itching to dig ’em out.

guerciotti

…and Italian steel road bikes.

I’m building up this Guerciotti steel frame into a singlespeed slowly but surely. Should have it done by 2015. And it’s costing me a LOT, even using used parts.
Maybe if I wait long enough I can forego the totally archaic chain and gear drive and get this new system.

I’ll post pics when it’s done… if I’m still around by then.

2 comments

  1. Yum, yum, and YUM. Yeah the carbon fiber belt looks sweet – what would we do without the advances in materials science. I like the 8 speed “internal hub” deal too – hey you can build the bike to look like a single speed but have the advantage of 8 gears! Cool.


  2. […] better bet? As I’ve said before, you can’t beat Green Flash. Their Hop Head (pictured) or their West Coast IPA are neither […]



Leave a Reply

