h1

Another Great One Gone

October 15, 2008


I mentioned a while ago that Can I Change My Mind was the first song played at our wedding. I didn’t mention that I wanted to name our first son Alton, after Alton Ellis, the great jamaican singer and king of the Rocksteady sound.

I learned about his death on NPR of all places.

Alton lived the second half of his life in England and died in a London hospital on Friday October 10 at the age of 70.

Caught by the Reaper has an excellent write up of his career.

Most of Alton Ellis’ hits were covers of popular American tunes, but he made them his own.

Root Blog has Alton’s version of I’m Still in Love with You. (Marcia Aitken‘s version is arguably more popular).

Ultra Stimulation has his version of The Spinner‘s It’s a Shame and Blood Sweat & Tear’s You Make Me so Very Happy.

Dilate.Choonz has I’m Just a Guy

Mad Decent has Remember That Sunday

And the great You & Me on a Jamboree has a ton of his stuff available, um, just for you and me.

One comment


  1. And I would like to start all over again
    Baby, can I change my mind?


    Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.



Leave a Reply

