h1

I have to live with this every day

June 12, 2008

True story:

One of the brake lights was out on my VW, so yesterday I picked up a bulb and attempted to replace it. Each tail light has 4 separate bulbs so in order to figure out which was the brake as opposed to the turn signal or running lights I needed someone to push on the brake pedal. My two-year old son tried but just didn’t have the strength to push it hard enough. So I asked my wife to get in the car and push the brake pedal. “It should only take a second,” I promised.

Now, to give you some background, my wife (and her friends) are just a bit, well, clueless. Maybe “dizzy” is a better word.

Anyway, the brake light on the “working” tailight wouldn’t light up either. “are you pushing it?” I’d ask. “Yeah” she’d assure me. This went on for a while with no luck. So I asked her to turn on the lights. They worked, but still no brake light. Then I asked her to start up the car, thinking just maybe, for some WEIRD reason, the brake lights didn’t work without the car running.

The car starts up and instantly redlines- she had the gas pedal pressed all the way to the floor and didn’t let up until I yelled frantically, “What the hell are you doing?!” “Stop, Stop! For the love of God!!” I seriously thought the friggin engine was going to explode.

So by now you’ve probably guessed why the brake lights didn’t light up.

You got it.

She was pressing the GAS PEDAL the entire time.

The WHOLE TIME I WAS TEARING MY HAIR OUT WONDERING WHAT THE HELL WAS GOING ON, ASKING HER OVER AND OVER, “ARE YOU STILL PRESSING IT??”

I’m gonna get a lot of shit for writing this but its just too good NOT to share. It’s just ONE example of what I deal with every day. Hell, I could write an entire BLOG devoted to her follies. But I won’t. A guy’s got to show his love some respect. Jeez.

BTW, this is the beauty I’m trading in for a new one.

The car silly, not the wife.

6 comments

  1. There lies Joe Blake
    Stepped on the gas instead of the brake.

    LOL, man. I know that feeling. Getting others to help on the mundance, like changing a light, can be a real challenge. I know that part all too well about “Are you pressing it?”


  2. Matt-

    We live the same life!!!! Have a good one.

    Sue


  3. IS that my Sue that just responded! Come on….I am no where near Claud!!!!


  4. Sue is married to my wife’s brother so she has to put up with the same shenanigans as me!


  5. Funny story Matt…

    Craig was supposed to buy lunch today for some clients, so he ordered 10 pizzas only to discover that he forgot his wallet today! So one of the clients had to buy it. Yes Craig is as bad as Claudia!


  6. Like I said, it’s a daily occurance, with the fall thru the attic drywall being the highlight. I needed to put just one of these incidents down in writing just in case anything happens to me!



Leave a Reply

