h1

Can I have more than one favorite?

February 21, 2008

Mojo Risin Double IPA
A long time ago I mentioned that double IPAs were my favorite style of beer, and Stoudt’s Double IPA my favorite of the bunch, with Dogfishhead 90 Minute a close second.

Well folks, a Boulder Colorado brewer has invaded the Philly market and has just taken the coveted prize of Thinman’s favorite double IPA.

The Boulder Beer Co, Colorado’s first microbrewery, makes a Mojo IPA which can be found on a few taps in the area along with Sweaty Betty Blonde and Hazed & Infused. Mojo Risin’ Double IPA comes in at a whopping 10% ABV and is just a touch smoother than my previous favorites.

The best part? It’s only $31 a case at Bell Beverage in South Philly. (It’s over $50 at a distributor in my hood). The first time I bought it I thought they charged me the regular Mojo price. But the second time, (yes, I actually bought the same brand of beer twice in a row- it’s that good!) they double checked the price. Stoudt’s comes in 10 dollars higher at $41/case… and its local, which doesn’t seem to make much difference anymore btw. Considering the hop and barley shortage, 31 bucks for a highly hopped 10% imperial IPA is a steal.

I think I might stash a couple 4 packs (it doesn’t come in sixes) in my crawlspace for this time next year when, as most pundits are predicting, hoppy beers will be all but extinct (I’m not kidding- Tupper’s Hop Pocket is already on hiatus with many more to come).

Mojo Risin’ is part of Boulder’s limited release Looking Glass series.

Oh by the way, I had to add Flying Dog Brewery‘s Double Dog IPA to the picture because it is so similar to the aformentioned double IPAs. It actually gets a higher grade at beeradvocate than Mojo.

And on the topic, I’m happy to report that Flying Dog is now pretty much an East Coast brewer, recently closing its Denver brewery and brewing exclusively at the Frederick, MD facility, the former home of Wild Goose. Correct me if I”m wrong, but I think this might be the first time a West Coast micro has relocated in the East.
East Side, ya’ll!
Oh nevermind.

The Loose Cannon? It is NOT a double IPA but a great IPA with a VERY aromatic hop nose in the same vein as Troeg’s Nugget Nectar and Bells amazing Hop Slam. Its alcohol content is 7.25% and is available year ’round unlike The other two. Gotta give Baltimore’s Clipper City Brewery some props for that. But please guys, shorten the name. “Heavy Seas Loose Cannon Hop3 Ale? C”mon!

Bells HopSlam

I swear this is the last tangent I’ll take, but speaking of Bell’s Hopslam, I tried it for the first time this weekend at Saint Steven’s Green and… WOW. They really outdid themselves again. It’s the most floral smelling beer I’ve ever experienced.
The price? $65 a case. IF you can get it. The owner of Bella Vista Beer Distributor told me it’s nearly impossible to find.

Guess what he recommended instead? You guessed it. Mojo Risin’.

2 comments

  1. […] Cannon (I was raving about Loose Cannon just last week) Heavy […]


  2. […] Bad Luck City […]



Leave a Reply

