h1

Apple TV and iTunes video rental: Bye Bye Netflix and Cable

January 16, 2008


A lot of us Apple-lovers were a bit disappointed after yesterday’s lackluster MacWorld keynote by Steve Jobs, but after reading up on some of the product updates, notably the Apple TV and the iPhone/Google Maps upgrade, I’m a little more excited by the news, albeit small.

The Apple TV really has the potential to replace cable set-top boxes and give Apple the lead in movie rentals, which according to this article, it already has, as least in downloads.

What this means is that I may be able to cancel my Netflix account and rely on Apple for my movies on demand. Why send bits of data on a envelope through snail-mail when I can do it over my Internet connection? Especially now that it offers movies in high definition (720p)? Netflix movies are still standard def. until I decide to pick a side in the format war, put the money down for a high def. dvd player, then update my Netflix cue for an extra charge.

As you know, I ditched cable for OTA television long ago, but now everyone else can do the same, at least until the cable industry offers programming a la carte.

Don’t think you can live without your TiVo DVR? Try the new Elgato EyeTV 3 on your TV-connected computer and say bye bye to your monthly TiVo bills.

Apple is making taking the lead (at least in innovation) in computers (Mac), music (iTunes), and mobile phones (duh). Now it’s the living room TV.

Next up? The Apple car.

3 comments

  1. Besides its questionable business practices, I like the service model of netflix. Paperless is cool, instant is cool, but netflix ain’t going nowhere and can partially do both. 30 to start 24 to watch seems like a bad rule.

    Netflix needs stream on macs.


  2. […] rentals on iTunes and an overhaul of Apple TV. This led to the Bad Luck City blog’s headline: Apple TV and iTunes video rental: Bye Bye Netflix and Cable. What this means is that I may be able to cancel my Netflix account and rely on Apple for my movies […]


  3. […] They didn’t show up the day they promised (1 vacation day wasted). Or their stance on a la carte programming. Yes, Comcast DOES employ many of my fellow Philadelphians. Heck, they even hired my buddy Ashton […]



Leave a Reply

