h1

Now I feel even sicker

August 1, 2007

handguns in phillyI’ve had a severe case of sinusitus for the entire month, so I haven’t been too motivated to do much, hence the lack of posts here on my blog. I basically lie on the couch a lot and read about the gruesome violence plaguing Philadelphia.

The murders just keep getting more horrible… like the teen recently shot three times in the back for his motorcycle.
If that wasn’t really bad enough, the cops reported that the MOTHER of one of the youths involved in the shooting told her son repeatedly to get the bike out of the house. Quote she, “that bike belongs to that dead kid.” But she never called police.

The ease of which our fellow citizens can acquire a gun is partly to blame for our city’s murder rate, but with parents like this, what, or who, is really to blame?

Luis Navarro Jr., the victim, literally slept next to his motorcycle. Parked it right next to his bed in his basement bedroom. I did the same thing when I got my new Schwinn as a kid. (Hell, come to think of it, I even did it in my late 20s when I got my new tricked-out Trek OCLV!)

Eric Smith, the teen who police believe put more bullets into Luis’ body at point-blank range after he fell off the bike, even bragged about it to others. This makes me really, REALLY sick. These people live in my own TOWN.

Sigh. It’s not time to move out of the scary city to the burbs. It’s time to move to Canada.

One comment

  1. I’m a Canadian living in the states, near Gary IN, and frankly I feel safer down here that I do in Canada. My hometown had the highest crime rate in the province and yes, most of the crimes were violent in nature not moose attacks.
    I would like you to tell us how the gun laws in this country put handguns in the hands of bad people? From what I’ve seen it is the other way around.
    Making gun laws any stricter (like Canada’s), only takes the guns out of law abiding citizens hands and puts them into the hands of criminals who buy them on the black market.
    All studies in this area show that the more legal guns there are per person in a given state the lower the crime is. Hummmm isn’t that food for thought?

    A book for anti-gun people to read: “More Guns, Less Crime: Understanding Crime and Gun Control Laws (Studies in Law and Economics” by John R. Lott, Jr.’s developing his study in the January 1997 Journal of Legal Studies.



Leave a Reply

