h1

Free R & B concert at Penn’s Landing 7/20/07

July 19, 2007


I never missed an episode of Soul Train when I was a kid, so I’m still a closet R&B fan. I planned to see Musique Soulchild this Friday at Penn’s Landing since its also free, and I never pass up ANYTHING free.
Then I read Brian McManus’ column in PW about Musique’s two opening acts: Raul Midon and Chrisette Michele. I attended the Eric Roberson show a few weeks back, and his opener, local 19 year-old Jazmine Sullivan almost blew him off the stage. Brian thinks Raul and Chrisette will do the same. After watching a few of their myspace videos (both have played Letterman) I tend to agree.

Raul is a blind New Mexico native who plays a mean guitar. Be sure to check out his “horn solo” in the Letterman clip above.
Chrisette is a 24 year-old goddess from Staten Island. Signed to Def Jam.

Bring a chair. I’ll see you there. 7:30 sharp.

MP3: Chrisette Michele-Let’s Rock (clean)

Leave a Reply

