h1

Apple kills the Mac Mini. You bastards!

May 29, 2007

mini.jpg

Well Apple has kept the Mac Mini’s processor stuck at a core duo forever. Some of us wished for a total makeover and hoped the rumors weren’t correct. But alas, AppleInsider has stated that the Mini is dead.

What the article doesn’t mention is that the Apple TV killed the mini. Who knows. I had a sweet home theater/PC setup all planned, with a little help from a great how-to podcast from the HTGuys.

Right now when I want to view online videos or pics of the kids on the new 40″ Sony V2500 LCD, I have to hook up the Powerbook via a DVI to HDMI cable. I wanted to have a dedicated Mac permanently connected using a bluetooth keyboard and mouse and I was waiting for an update before getting the Mini. Now I’ll have to use my old G4 tower which should be fine, but I just didn’t want a noisy fan running in the living room. I’ll have to slap a larger hardrive & videocard in it. Or I’ll go the Apple TV route, but my tv is 1080p, whereas the ATV is only 720p (with all the hacks found for it already, maybe someone is bound to get it to do that too). At least if I want one quick I can soon pick one up at my local Target.

I’ll let you know what I end up doing. Be sure to check out the HTGuys podcast for some good HD info.

Apple TV vs Mac Mini from theappleblog

Leave a Reply

