h1

Stoudt’s Smooth Hoperator

May 18, 2007

smooth-hop.jpg
Bell Beverage in South Philly has Stoudt’s Weizen and this odd new creation on sale this week for $23/case. I had a hankerin for some wheat beer since the weather’s getting warmer and it’s on my way home from work so I swung by to pick some up. Then I see this. No description on the box or bottle as to what style of beer it is, but it has the word “hop” in the title, so, after much debate, I’m sold. I grab this instead since Stoudts would never lead me wrong (their double IPA is seriously in my top 5 favorite American beers).

I should of stuck with my original plan. I got whammied.

I can put aside the ugly label as long as it tastes good… So, about the taste: Not too impressed. Now, as I’ve stated before, I can’t review a beer like they do on ratebeer.com and beeradvocate (if I read one more review mention “straw” or “copper” color I’m gonna scream. how about just “beer” color?)
I was expecting hoping for an IPA or even a pale ale, but was met with a malty taste and not really that much hop flavor or smell at all. It immediately reminded me of a milder version of Troeg’s Nut Brown Ale.

Then I did a Google search and found that it’s really a lager or even a bock or doublebock, (which explains the goat). That explains everything.
I’m not a big fan of lagers but after further drinking, yes, it was definitely a lager. If you’re a fan, then you’ll enjoy it. If you’ve got any Bell’s Two-Hearted Ale, drop me an email and we can maybe make a trade since I have a whole case of this!

According to Tria Cafe’s website, Stoudt’s is offering this 7% brew for a limited time in honor of their 20th anniversary.

It’s on tap there and the Drafting Room.

More on Stoudt’s anniversary from Lew Bryson.

2 comments

  1. NOTE: Chad wrote this comment on the general site comments but it belongs here. My comments follow:

    just read your review of Smooth Hoperator. Just got home with a case. Same deal. Purchased on a whim hoping for an IPA and knowing Stoudts usually delivers. Unlike you, I like it. I drink IPAs almost exclusively so I’m liking this as something different. I find it very hoppy.

    As for the Bell’s Two Hearted, I just finished my case last week. Excellent. Purchased at Shangy’s in Emmaus (Lehigh Valley) for $31. If you really love it, might be worth the 2 hour round trip from Philly to get it. I know they will have it. Their selection is unrivaled.

    Wow, that’s a good price… I thought it’d be at least $40 and I had no idea I could get it in PA. My parents live kinda near Kalamazoo Michigan, (home to Bells) so I thought I’d have to drive out there to get it. I’ll stop by Shangy’s on my way to the Trexlertown velodrome swapmeet in the Fall.

    Langunita’s IPA was one of the best IPAs at the last beerfest I attended, but I haven’t picked up a case yet.

    Cheers-

    thinman


  2. http://www.buchhandlung-arnold.de Very nice blog dude! How do u get so much visitors? My blog is very sad – only 10 visitors per day. Btw: Nice article!



Leave a Reply

